Giro d'Italia 2024 Notebook


The 107th edition of the Giro d'Italia will take place May 4 - May 26, 2024 covering a total distance of 3401 kms over 21 stages.
This is a beautiful, multi-day race with a rich history. Enjoy some of that history in the photos below. Enjoy the 2024 event, Giro history is waiting to be recorded. Forza!

Stage | Date | Start | Finish | Distance | Terrain
1    4 May   Venaria Reale Torino 136km Hilly
2    5 May   San Francesco Al Campo Santuario di Oropa 150km Hilly
3    6 May   Novara Fossano 165km Flat
4    7 May   Acqui Terme Andora 187km Flat
5    8 May   Genova Lucca 176km Hilly/Flat
6    9 May   Viareggio Rapolano Terme 177km Hilly
7    10 May  Foligno Perugia 37.2km ITT
8    11 May  Spoleto Prati di Tivo 153km Mountains
9    12 May  Avezzano Napoli 206km Hilly/Flat
-     13 May REST DAY
10  14 May  Pompei Cusano Mutri 141km Flat
11  15 May  Foiano di Val Fortore Francavilla Al Mare 203km Flat
12  16 May  Martinsicuro Fano 183km Hilly/Flat
13  17 May  Riccione Cento 179km Flat
14  18 May  Castiglione Delle Stiviere Desenzano Del Garda 31km ITT
15  19 May  Manerba Del Garda Livigno (Mottolino) 220km Mountains
-     20 May REST DAY
16  21 May  Livigno Monte Pana 202km Mountains
17  22 May  Selva di Val Gardena Passo Brocon 154km Mountains
18  23 May  Fiera di Primiero Padova 166km Flat
19  24 May  Mortegliano Sappada 154km Hilly/Flat
20  25 May  Alpago Bassano Del Grappa 175km Mountains
21  26 May  Rome Rome 126km Flat

Giovanni Brunero (Legnano-Pirelli) Giro d'Italia winner 1921-1922-1926 

Gino Bartlai Giro d'Italia 1940 

Fiorenzo Magni Giro d'Italia 1955 

Vittorio Adorni (Salvarani) Jacques Anquetil (Ford France) Felice Gimondi (Salvarani) enjoy a moment during the 1965 Giro.

Felice Gimondi (Salvarani) fuels up in the Giro D'Italia 

Giro'dItalia 1975 climbing the iconic Stelvio Pass

...yes, sometimes it snows at the Giro d'Italia ...Giro 1965

Giro d'Italia 1973 Eddy Merckx (Molteni) with Giovanni Battaglin (Jollj Ceramica)

...and this would not be complete without a photo of Fausto Coppi, Il Campionissimo. CIMA COPPI: The rider who crosses the highest point of the Giro d'Italia first is given the Cima Coppi, the prize named after Fausto Coppi, who won the race five times. In the 2024 Giro, the Cima Coppi is on stage 16, on the mythical Stelvio.